How to Thrift a Designer Fall Wardrobe for $74.61

This weekend was fall break and so naturally the fiance and I went thrift store shopping. We are avid and very skilled, if I must say so myself, thrift store shoppers. This weekend I was looking to spruce up my fall wardrobe for graduate school -because we have to wear business casual- and just ended up purchasing an entirely new one. For a Grand Total of $74.61!!! I am  super ecstatic because I purchased missing staples as well as things that are trendy this fall and half of my buys were labels that I wear retail. For the next two weeks or so, I will attempt to take a photo of me and at least half a thrifted outfit and the price of the outfit. If you are not an avid thrifter and would like to, there is a list of tips below.

The Haul
1 dress
1 sweater vest
1 scarf
1 black standard blazer
2 cardigans
2 pull over sweaters- one green, one leopard
5 button down shirts
4 long sleeve shirts- one striped, one flowy
1 jacket
6 skirts- 2 camel wool, 1 pleated wit pockets
3 pairs of pants- 2 wide leg, one corduroy
Tips and Tricks

1) Set a budget– Decide how much you want to spend and be prepared to comfortably spend above it as long as its within your limit. I thought I wanted to spend no more than $60 but I saw the most precious pair of J. Crew corduroys so I had to expand my budget but I also spotted a Vera Wang gown and could not bring myself to spread my budget that much further.

2) Check out your wardrobe to see what is missing– I needed a standard black blazer, standard black cardigan, something leopard, corduroys and wool skirts to fill out my wardrobe. I knew that these things were missing from previous assessments of my current wardrobe so I made a list and kept it in my wallet.

3) Know the labels you love and your size in them-I always check out my closet for labels that are staple. I LOVE J. Crew and Ralph Lauren Black Label. I know that they fit my body type well and I can wear most of their purchases through every single season. The only draw back is pair of pants from either place could cost upwards of $400. I have expensive taste but refuse to pay for them so while I am thrifting, if I see something in my size in either label, I buy! The best thing is I usually don’t have to try those items on because I know they will fit.

4) Eat and wear comfy clothing– I always eat before I leave the house. As soon as hunger hits, I no longer want to look through rack after rack of dusty pre-owned clothing. Did I mention I get cynical as I get hungry? Also dress comfortably. I try to wear a nice tshirt and jeans with flats so that when I try things on, I can image how other things look with clothing that is already in my wardrobe.

5) Google a good neighborhood– Pick a good neighborhood. The clothing is based off of the people who live there because they donate/consign their clothing. You have a better chance of scoring nicer things in a nicer area.

6) Pick up every single thing you like– I tend to pick up 10 items and only buy 3 after trying them on but the more you pick up, the more your options are.

7) Ignore Sizes on Non-Brand names– If you hold something up and it looks like it may fit you, try it on. Vintage sizes vary from modern day sizes. Ex the sweater I’m wearing below is a vintage 14 and I wear a modern day 8.

Tribal Print Scarf- $1.06
Cardigan Sweater Vest- $2.25 
Leave a Reply

